Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

£7.495
FREE Shipping

Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

Counterfeit: A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick and New York Times BESTSELLER - the most exciting and addictive heist novel you’ll read this summer!

RRP: £14.99
Price: £7.495
£7.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

The twist halfway through Counterfeit is undoubtedly its biggest strength, forcing the reader to reconsider everything they just read about Ava’s side of the story. A part of the stereotypical thinking is what Ava uses to gain sympathy in the eyes of the detective.

She keeps her friend company but is also there to assist with Ava’s son who forms quite an attachment to her. I always enjoy reading about the filthy rich and seeing the very different ways they live their lives and how that alters their mentality. Well-written and cleverly-structured, the story revolves around two Chinese-American women, Winnie Fang and Ava Wong, who become involved in a scheme selling counterfeit luxury handbags. Ava and Winnie are compelling characters with strong motivations and the whole elaborate scheme is fascinating.As the story opens, it quickly becomes apparent that Ava is confessing her role in the scheme to a detective, while Winnie is somehow missing in action.

Ava‘s portrayal is especially strong, she is not happy in her current life and plays it safe until she doesn’t. For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of two Asian American women who band together to grow a counterfeit handbag scheme into a global enterprise--an incisive and glittering blend of fashion, crime, and friendship from the author of Bury What We Cannot Take and Soy Sauce for Beginners. When their scheme is threatened and Winnie bolts, Ava is forced to face the consequences and must decide how to best play her hand.

The first part is written in Ava’s first person perspective, whereby she is narrating her experiences with Winnie and also her personal issues to the detective handling the case. Her husband is a doctor, and has recently taken a new job, staying in an apartment near the hospital on weekdays, leaving her even more alone. In fact I was pleasantly surprised by how detailed the book was, how much story and explanation we got.

Chen occasionally leans into the western stereotypes surrounding Asians, but deliberately so I think, making a point about expectations and how Ava and Winnie used them to their advantage. This is the story of two buck the system young women of Chinese descent, developing a system to pass off counterfeit handbags as originals. An added bonus if she is very good with her two year old son Henri who has the most spectacular of tantrums.

I don’t usually choose my books by recommendations from celebrities or book clubs (or both), but I’ve noticed that I enjoy quite a few of Reese Witherspoon’s recommendations. S. passport to help manage her business—someone who'd never be suspected of wrongdoing, someone like Ava. It's cleverly told, hugely intelligent, and raises a lot of extremely sharp points about the kind of narratives people tell and believe and expect.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop