276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Pen Dipped in Poison: A witty and cosy mystery story, perfect for fans of Richard Osman

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Sarah Yarwood-Lovett, author of A Murder of Crows --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

When poison pen letters start landing on the doorsteps of friends and neighbours in their Yorkshire village, old secrets come to light. As delightful as it is deadly , A Pen Dipped in Poison is a feel-good, fun and fabulous cosy mystery that had me utterly gripped from page one . A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns, and an intriguing cast of characters ? In fact, I found myself hooked on the marital sideplots as well as the poison pen main plotline and, as with Book 1, I found the authentic feeling of the school setting and teaching backgrounds added to my enjoyment of the story.This was an ok cosy mystery with so many characters that is became overwhelming at times trying to keep track. as well as the summary on the back ("one by one, careers are ended, marriages destroyed") of the book are a bit misleading. Many thanks to NetGalley and HarperCollins UK Audio, Avon for allowing me to listen to the ARC of this novel. I really enjoyed the school setting of the book, and finding out what it is like behind the scenes there. The characters are likeable and quirky, the story moves quickly and this talented author leaves us wanting for more…!

In this second book, the cast of characters is greatly augmented by being set in a school (the main three older women are all retired teachers who get pulled back in to various support roles in the running of the school).

I understand he's from Yorkshire, but it does show some short sightedness to seem to assume your audience is from your geographical region.

Boilers, almost-suicide, divorce, past relationships and nasty threats are all uncovered throughout the pages. I liked the premises of the three retired friends turning into wannabe Miss Marple’s trying to project the school they so loved but the first half of the book did drag a little for me. I am hoping the next book in this series, if there is one, will go back to all the things that I loved about the first book.Bought it because I quite like 'cosy murders' without the violent details that many crime books have but I must say it just dragged on and on with waffling about the people and the letters that after about half an hour into the book I had no idea who was who and who was doing what to whom, and why etc. To access your ebook(s) after purchasing, you can download the free Glose app or read instantly on your browser by logging into Glose. I loved the first book in this series so naturally I was very excited about the second one, and boy it didn’t disappoint in any way.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment